I was at a class at church last night and one of the verses in the discussion was Revelations 3:20:

20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me” (Rev 3:20).

The word “dine” stood out to me and made me wonder why Jesus chose that word to express his indwelling relationship with us. So I did a little research on it, and I think I understand what Jesus means here, at least a little more. The Greek word means “… to eat, to banquet, as figurative of Christ’s kingdom (Rev. 3:20)”. It made me think of eating with my friends, and of the Alpha experiences where we sit around a table and enjoy a dinner and conversation before the talk and the topical discussions afterward. There is something special about sharing a meal with people you know well. It strengthens the bonds of the friendship even more. I think it’s part of the imprinting we received from God, that eating together builds a bond that other activities don’t.

Last week I was invited to the Passover Seder at a friends house on the last night of the project that took me to Michigan. It was really an interesting time spent experiencing their observance of the Passover holiday. While they were reciting the traditional Hebrew text that goes along with Passover, a section of the book Israel My Beloved came to mind. It was a period during the pogroms in Russia, where Jews had to hide from the marauding bands on horseback to survive. It made me think of a time to come when persecution of Christians may be so severe, we have to take the practices of our faith underground, and gathering around a table to eat and celebrate our religion may cost us our lives. It made me much more thankful for the times we live in now.

— The New King James Version. 1982 (Re 3:20). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

— Zodhiates, S. (2000, c1992, c1993). The complete word study dictionary : New Testament (electronic ed.) (G1172). Chattanooga, TN: AMG Publishers

