Have you ever noticed, when you’re thinking about your life, you have a tendency to think in terms of 70 or maybe 80 years? Lately I have found myself realizing that when I’m considering what is best for my career, or what I’m going to do if money dries up, thinking about it in terms of eternity puts a much different perspective on it. It doesn’t seem as important to worry about getting ahead at work anymore. When my field of vision encompasses eternity in God’s Kingdom, what happens on earth is much less of an issue. I find I can let things go easier now: the car that cuts you off isn’t as infuriating; or when someone asks for time to talk, it’s much easier for me to make the time these days. When I extend my field of vision, the troubles of today are trivial. And I think that’s what Jesus had in mind when he said:

26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

I used to read this and be frustrated about how to apply it in my life when I was worrying about how to pay the bills and have enough left over for food. But one day I realized I could go without a house, or a car, or even food at times, and I’d still be happy because I had eternity with Christ to look forward to. My field of vision had been enlarged by the Holy Spirit. How freeing it is to not worry about that anymore!

— The Holy Bible  : New International Version. 1996, c1984 (electronic ed.) (Mt 6:26-27). Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

