A. W. Tozer can totally blow me away with just a sentence or two. He did it once in his book “God’s Pursuit of Man,” and he’s done it again in “The Pursuit of God.” And I’m not even past the second page!

The impulse to pursue God originates with God, but the outworking of that impulse is our following hard after Him” (Tozer, 2006, p. 12).

I sat and pondered that sentence, and it made me realize how little I “follow hard after God” in my day-to-day life. At least what I’ve been doing lately. As I was thinking about the concept of following hard after God, I got to thinking about how much time I have wasted waiting on God to come to me, when the whole time he was there waiting for me to come to Him. And I wonder how many in this world today, who are too used to  everything being given to them, are missing out on God because they aren’t following hard after Him.

God knocks on the door to our heart, and if we accept Jesus in, then we need to get busy learning more about Him, studying His word, and loving others. I really need to discipline myself to pray more, study the Bible more, and engage in people’s lives more than I do. There’s the “D” word again.  🙂

— Tozer, A. W. (2006). The Pursuit of God. Camp Hill, PA: Wing Spread Publishers.

