Resisting temptation is impossible for us to do alone. For so many years I tried to do it on my own, and never got anywhere with it. The problem is I tried to do it without the power of the Holy Spirit. I tried to be a self-reformer. I love this passage by Tozer:

Christianity takes for granted the absence of any self-help and offers a power which is nothing less than the power of God. This power is to come upon powerless men as a gentle but resistless invasion from another world, bringing a moral potency infinitely beyond anything that might be stirred up from within. This power is sufficient; no additional help is needed, no auxiliary source of spiritual energy, for it is the Holy Spirit of God come where the weakness lay to supply power and grace to meet the moral need” (Tozer, 1950, pp. 88-89).

All we have to do is learn to admit failure and accept God’s power and help. Slowly, after way too many years, I’m getting there.

— Tozer, A. W. (1950). God’s Pursuit of Man. Camp Hill, PA: Wing Spread Publishers.

