Man does this paragraph describe me at times, but hopefully less and less as time goes by.

Yet tragically, many of us who claim to believe are still stuck in the margins, wandering around with our heads to the ground and acting like orphans with no place to belong and no one to love. We are so named by the sin and woundedness in our lives that we fail to realize whose children we are” (McKinley, 2005, p.109).

One of the hardest things for me to accept was my worthiness to be loved. I have struggled and struggled with sin throughout my life. Temptation was always just around the next corner, but I could never conquer it. I was a “self-reformer.” And all my failed attempts only served to distance me more from God. “How could he love a failure like me?” The prodigal son was who I was, but I couldn’t allow myself to be loved by God (and others). I would try to resist temptation on my own, thinking that was the way to do it. But I don’t have the power to successfully resist temptation on my own. What is in my power is to give up every part of my life to Jesus, and by doing so, gain His power to resist temptation. The more I stop resisting giving over areas to Him, and the more I stop trying to do it myself, the more I succeed. Sort of counter-intuitive, huh?

(I may not have expressed this in the most theologically accurate way, but I think you understand what I mean.)

— McKinley, Rick. (2005). Jesus in the Margins: Finding God in the Places We Ignore. Sisters, Oregon: Multnomah Publishers.

