I was listening to Tony Evans on the way home the other night and he said something that I really liked:

A successful life is not a life whereby you measure what you have done compared to what someone else has done. A successful life is where you measure what you have done compared to what you were supposed to do…Marketing is making a mint on giving us somebody else’s jersey to wear, somebody else’s number to wear, some other star that I want to get close to because you have not yet discovered that you are a star in your right” (Evans, 2008).

This is something I really fought over the past few years. I wanted to climb the ladder of IT management and “be someone.” For so many years, I identified myself by the title I had, the car I drove, etc. There are still times when I find myself thinking that way again, but God has really been moving me away from this slowly but surely. And for a Christian, it’s so necessary to do this, because the value of a person does not come from what job they have, or how much money they make, or what car they drive. For when you start thinking that way, it’s easy to take the wrong attitude toward those that don’t “measure up.” Each person is equally valuable to God, and so should be equally valuable to us; regardless of their economic status, social status, “looks” status, or race or ethnic origin.

