It occurred to me today that one of the reasons so many people want socialized medicine, is that they don’t want to have to pay the price of their own choices. Just like the bailout of sub-prime mortgages, because people bought more than they should have and could afford, life-choices the majority of Americans make incur higher health care costs. Just research the skyrocketing increase of adult-onset diabetes. If we had more self-control to eat fewer carbohydrates, we wouldn’t be gaining as much weight as a people, and diabetes wouldn’t be the problem it is.

One of my weaknesses is Cinnamon Toast Crunch. The product really should be banned.  🙂  I do have the self-control to only buy it now and then; I just don’t have the self-control to make the product last more than 24 hours. I’ve been working on my self-control over the past few months, and as a result I’ve lost weight. I’m down lower than I have been since 2004 – for only a few weeks – and prior to that, possibly 2000.

Because of this paragraph, “I know whereof what I speak.” I know how hard it is to push away from food we shouldn’t eat, and make wise decisions when it comes to finances, lifestyle, etc. But we as a nation must start to exercise self-control, or we will be in for a world of hurt before too long. The entire population will not be able to be supported by the “rich.” We can’t keep living beyond our means and expect some magic pill of the future to solve the problems we’ve been making. Or as Albert Einstein said, “The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.”

