I have to admit I approached this book with a little trepidation. I know of Kay Arthur; I’ve tried to read one of her books, but I could never seem to connect with her. When the book club at church began reading it last month, I thought, “Uh oh, a chick book.”  🙂 Well, I was pleasantly surprised as I got into the book beyond the first few chapters.

The book presents an engaging and sweeping history of the Jewish people; how in the past they have been persecuted throughout the ages. This book has spurred an interest in me to read more of Jewish history and the history of the Christian church.

One of the literary techniques some of the people in my group struggled with at first was the fact that the lead character, Sarah, lived throughout the entire book, from 600 BCE through the second coming of Christ. This didn’t bother me too much, once I understood the literary license the author was using. Sarah represents the “nation of Israel.” So what happens to her, and her friends, represents what has happened, is happening, or will happen to all Jewish people.

This license allows us to really become immersed into the lives and trials of the Jewish people through the period immediately prior to and during the captivity in Babylon, the persecution through Europe and Asia around the time of the Crusades, and during World War II. One point of history I did not know was how the Jews became the enablers of capitalism throughout Europe when the Catholic Church forbade anyone to lend money for interest. The Jews were allowed to make a living by loaning money, which enabled businesses to grow. End the end though, the governments stole their wealth they had earned and forced them out of their countries, but did not allow them to take their possessions. A technique used again by Hitler and company during the 1930’s throughout Germany and the occupied countries.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the lives of the Jewish people of the Old Testament, as well as through history after the occupation and destruction by Rome. My one complaint about the book, and I haven’t resolved it totally, is how the characters of the book never acknowledge Jesus as the Savior of the World, and yet apparantly are accepted by God after the second coming of Jesus. I don’t know if the Jewish people have a special dispensation by God which allows them to be saved without acknowledging Jesus as the Messiah or not. If I ever figure this out, I’ll post it.  🙂

