I picked this book up while I was helping out at the Willow Creek Leadership Summit simulcast that was held at my church. I missed John’s talk, but I’ll catch it on the DVD when I get it. But while reading the back of the book I was intrigued with the concept, so I bought it. Now I’m so glad I did! I love the way John writes, and the way he lays out the 60-60 experiment in such easy terms.

About a year ago I started reading The Spiritual Man by Watchman Nee. These books dovetail together so well. The Spiritual Man sort of lays the theological groundwork for what the 60-60 experiment describes. Nee’s book also played more to my “modernist” mind, while Soul Revolution plays more to the pre- and post-modern mind I have been exploring. And by postmodern mind, I don’t mean the moral relativist, situational ethic concept so many have, but more toward the “follower of Jesus,” emergent church mind I’ve found growing.

Basically the 60-60 experiment is designed to reengage us with God by using a reminder to pray with God about what you are struggling with at the moment. Or as John says:

Staying connected in a brutally honest, continuous conversation allows God to do for us what we can’t do for ourselves…Get honest with God, process what’s most on your mind throughout the day, and keep your mind open to his thoughts. That’s how you begin to develop an authentic relationship with God. He will honor that effort” (Burke, 2008, p. 61).

The reminder is designed to go off at least every 60 minutes for 60 days. The idea is to gradually retrain our brains to move toward the goal of praying and talking with God unceasingly, as we are directed to in 1 Thessalonians 5:17:

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

So much of my traditional church background failed me when I would try to understand some parts of the Bible, such as how do we pray without ceasing? But through Soul Revolution, the AH HA! light is going off and I’m already beginning to feel some leading by God and I haven’t even formally started the experiment yet! I can’t wait!

— Burke, John. (2008). Soul Revolution: How Imperfect People Become All God Intended. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

— The New King James Version. 1982 (1 Th 5:16-18). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

