Was reading My Utmost for His Highest this morning and read this paragraph. Unfortunately, I can totally relate to the situation.

“O ye of little faith!” What a pang must have shot through the disciples—‘Missed it again!’ And what a pang will go through us when we suddenly realize that we might have produced downright joy in the heart of Jesus by remaining absolutely confident in Him, no matter what-was ahead.

How much we want to serve and please Him, and how so often we fail to do so. Why is it so hard to release control in the things we do for Christ? The mind understands that God is far more capable of handling a situation and turning it to His glory, but we still persist in trying to wrest control of our situations from Him. Too often I’ve thought, “Missed it again!”

I have to admit that over the past few months, I’ve grown some in my peace with God. I don’t worry as much anymore about finances and job; I know He will provide what I need when I need it. I’d just like to push more of that peace into more areas of my life. All things in time though…

Chambers, O. (1993, c1935). My utmost for his highest : Selections for the year (August 12). Grand Rapids, MI: Discovery House Publishers.

