I was finishing reading Lucky Thirteen last night, and I read a passage where Ken Wiley describes forcing soldiers out of his Higgins boat when he hit the beaches of Okinawa.

“The soldiers remained in the boat, squatting low, looking at one another, but not moving. I moved over next to them. ‘Get off my boat! We have to get out of here!’ … ‘Damn it! If you don’t get off,’ I threatened, ‘I’ll turn our 30-caliber on you! You are endangering the boat!'” (p. 282).

Ken was acting as a leader should, forcing the men who were in the boat to get out so he could save the boat, his men, and the campaign.

Some times as a manager/leader, we have to do things that aren’t easy, for us or for the other person. Letting someone go that is not in the right position is tough to do. As a new leader, we evaluate those in our team and determine if they are right for the job, for the team we’re creating, and where the company is going. Sometimes that person is the wrong fit. It’s never easy, but in the end, it is probably best for the person, for the team, and for the company.

— Wiley, K. (2007). Lucky Thirteen. Drexel Hill, PA:Casemate.

